The WCH Shop Faculty, September 2019

Kelly Peterson | Literary Agent

Kelly Peterson | Literary Agent

Rees Literary Agency

Kelly is a West Chester University graduate with a B.S.Ed in English and Literature. She worked as a Junior Literary Agent for two years before moving to Rees Literary Agency, continuing to champion her authors and the manuscripts she loves. Kelly seeks manuscripts in various genres within Middle Grade, Young Adult, and Adult age ranges. In Middle Grade, she loves fantasy, sci-fi, and contemporary that touches on tough issues for young readers. Her Young Adult preferences vary from contemporary to high fantasy, sci-fi (not the space kind) to paranormal (all the ghost stories, please!), and historical all the way back to rom-coms. Kelly is proud to continue to represent Adult manuscripts in romance, fantasy, and sci-fi. She is very interested in representing authors with marginalized own voices stories, witty and unique characters, pirates, witches, and dark fantasies.

Stephen Fraser | Senior Literary Agent

Stephen Fraser | Senior Literary Agent

Jennifer De Chiara Literary Agency

Stephen is a literary agent with the Jennifer De Chiara Literary Agency in New York City, a full-service agency which handles both juvenile and adult books.
Stephen has been voted top agent for both picture books and middle grade fiction. One of his clients, Margi Preus, won the Newbery Honor Medal for her novel, Heart of a Samurai (Abrams/Amulet, 2010 ); another client, Carol Lynch Williams, won the prestigious PEN International Award for her young adult novel Glimpse (Paula Wiseman/Simon & Schuster, 2010); and former client Matthew J. Kirby, won both the Edgar award for best juvenile mystery and the PEN USA award for children’s literature for his middle grade novel, Icefall (Scholastic, 2011). Stephen has been an agent for 14 years.
With more than 25 years’ editorial experience at major publishers including Harper-Collins, Simon & Schuster, and Scholastic, Stephen edited such creative talents as Mary Engelbreit, Gail Gibbons, Michael Hague, Ann Rinaldi, Kathryn Lasky, Brent Hartinger, Stephen Mitchell, Dan Gutman, Gregory Maguire, and Daniel Pinkwater.
He is a graduate of Middlebury College in Vermont with a degree in English Literature and has a Master’s Degree in Children’s Literature from Simmons College in Boston. Stephen is a popular speaker at writer’s conferences throughout the country. 

Alyssa Jennette | Literary Agent

Alyssa Jennette | Literary Agent

Stonesong Literary Agency

Alyssa Jennette represents children’s and adult fiction and picture books, and select humor and pop culture nonfiction. She values diversity and inclusion; in fiction she enjoys ensemble casts with distinct voices, and formats that are specific to a story and give it its own context (ex: THE SUPERNATURAL ENHANCEMENTS).

In MG/YA, she is interested in stories about poor characters and communities, secret societies, and unreliable narrators. She would love a friendship breakup story (particularly a mixed-gender friendship) in any age group, or a Clueless-esque “teen movie” update of a classic work.

In adult fiction, she likes fiction that straddles the commercial/literary divide, wit and wordplay, smart psychological or supernatural Suspense/Mystery/Horror, or beautifully crafted historical fantasy in the vein of JONATHAN STRANGE & MR. NORRELL.

Alyssa is particularly interested in art/art history/art conservation, archaeology, mythology, language/translation, and criminal justice reform—all of these subjects catch her eye in a novel.

Alyssa is open to graphic novel submissions and illustrators. She is not looking for romance, erotica, or commercial women’s fiction.

Jessica Day George | NYT Bestselling Author

Jessica Day George

New York Times Bestselling Author

Jessica Day George is the New York Times bestselling author of over a dozen fantasy books for teens and middle grade readers. She has a degree in Humanities/Comparative Literature and a minor in Scandinavian Studies from BYU. She speaks German and Norwegian, and can read Old Norse. Originally from Idaho, after Provo, she lived in Delaware and New Jersey before settling in the Salt Lake City area with her husband, three children, and fluffy white dog. She enjoys knitting, everything Disney, putting peanut M&M’s in her movie theater popcorn, very small dogs, and traveling. An avid reader, she has a monthly newsletter called Jessica Recommends . . . and if you’re wondering, she likes her chocolate dark.
Sylvan Creekmore | Editor

Sylvan Creekmore | Editor

St. Martins Press / Wednesday Books

Sylvan joined St. Martin’s Press / Wednesday Books in 2013, has built her list in YA fiction and adult nonfiction, including authors Lily Anderson and Sophie Gonzales, acclaimed historian Hugh Ryan, and superstar DJ Steve Aoki’s memoir. In YA, she’s looking for high-concept projects across genres especially with queer characters and female friendships, from marginalized perspectives. In adult nonfiction, she’s looking for gripping, boundary-pushing narrative nonfiction. She’s also expanding into adult genre fiction, acquiring buzz-worthy projects with a mainstream feel in fantasy, historical, queer romcom, or horror.

Ali Fisher | Editor

Ali Fisher | Editor

St. Martins Press / Wednesday Books

Ali Fisher is an editor from the Seattle area, currently based in NYC. She works for Tor/Forge Books where she edits fiction and nonfiction for teens and adults—primarily science fiction, fantasy, horror, and humor.